The University of Hyderabad, a premier institution of post graduate teaching and research in the country, was established by an Act of Parliament on 2nd October, 1974 as a Central University. The serene campus of the University, located on a sprawling 2300 acres, on the old Mumbai Highway, Gachibowli, provides the right learning ambience.

The University also has a city campus “The Golden Threshold”, the heritage building of the late Sarojini Naidu which was bequeathed to the University by her daughter, the late Padmaja Naidu. The UGC has identified the University as one of the five exclusive Universities in the country with Potential for Excellence (UPE), and provided special funding for all its overall development for a period of five years (2002-07). The UPE programme of the UGC has been successfully completed with the sanctioned amount of Rs. 30.00 crores during this period. The final report of various projects under UPE has been sent to UGC and the University is hoping to be declared “ University of Excellence” with increased budgetary support by the UGC.

The University was evaluated by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) and awarded the top grade ‘A’. The University has gone through the re-accreditation process of the NAAC and the NAAC has awarded a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 3.89 on 4.0 scale at ‘A’ Grade which is the highest grade ever given.

The University has also been rated by the National Information System for Science and Technology (NISSAT) of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR), Govt. of India as the only University under the “High Output-High Impact” category among the top 50 institutions in India with applications in citation – index journals.

As per a recent report using data from SCOPUS, taking into account the multi-disciplinary performance analyses the University of Hyderabad has been ranked as No. 1 among the top 25 Universities in the country.


The University has ten Schools of Study - School of Mathematics and Computer / Information Sciences, School of Physics, School of Chemistry, School of Life Sciences, School of Humanities, School of Social Sciences, Sarojini Naidu School of Performing Arts, Fine Arts and Communication, School of Management Studies, School of Medical Sciences and School of Engineering Sciences and Technology. All the Schools of the University are located on the main campus. While some Schools are single-discipline Schools, others have Departments and Centres attached to them. There are some stand alone academic centres. There has been a special emphasis on promoting inter-school and inter-disciplinary teaching and research in the University.

The University also offers professional Post-Graduate Diploma Programmes in the Distance Mode especially in interdisciplinary subjects.

"In addition, Academic Staff College has been functioning on the University campus for capacity building of teachers in colleges and universities as part of the New Education Policy (1986). The College organizes orientation and refresher courses for college and university teachers within and outside the University."


Under the Study in India Programme (SIP), the University offers international students, both short term and semester courses on various aspects of Indian Society – its heritage, history, social, cultural, economic and political aspects and Indian languages etc. This offers a unique multicultural learning opportunity to the students. In this regard, the University has Memoranda of Understanding with several American Universities that send students regularly for the programme. School of Management Studies All the Schools of the University are located on the main campus.


The University has over 350 highly qualified and talented Faculty, many of whom are recipients of national and international awards and honours. The honours and awards received by the faculty include: Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award, Ramon Magsaysay Award, Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan Awards, Leverhulme Fellowship, Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Award, Fulbright Visiting Professorship, Shastri Indo Canadian Institute Faculty Research Fellowship, Charles Wallace India Trust Short Term Fellowship, ACLS Award, Membership of American Linguistic Society, Sahitya Academy Award for Literature and Translation, Visiting Scientist/Professor positions (including exchange programmes), Fellowship of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), British Council and Commonwealth Staff Fellowship, Fellowship of Royal Society, Editorship of reputed international journals and membership of prestigious organizations.

The Faculty regularly undertakes teaching and research in India and abroad. They are on the editorial boards of many reputed journals and serve on important national committees and are members of official delegations of the Government.


It also has a wide range of facilities, a well-stocked Digital Library which is enhanced by School and Department holdings from donations and project grants – the latest computer technology, attractive and comfortable hostels set in an aesthetically pleasing environment conducive to study, sports complexes, conference halls, well-equiped laboratories, and a sense of community on its self-contained campus. These facilities are well supported by a strong and dedicated Administrative staff.


Over the years, the academic programmes, which enroll students through a competitive process conducted all over the country, have flourished well.

The presence of students and teachers on the campus, drawn from diverse cultures and various languages from all over the country and abroad, makes the University a truly cosmopolitan institution of higher learning.


In the last three decades, the University Faculty have published over 10,000 research works including over 650 books, many of which have been acclaimed by the academic community and have proved useful for teaching and research programmes. The University Faculty has attracted large research funding for individual research projects – from various national and international agencies and large industrial houses.